Columbia Flagging Academy

The Northwest's top choice for quality traffic control flagger training


Courses

Flagger Certification Class

If you want to become a certified flagger in Washington or Oregon, this is the class for you. Learn basic flagging skills: work zone set-up, nighttime flagging, traffic control.

Read More
Flagger Recertification

The flagging recertification class is designed for flaggers who are certified flaggers in Washington, Oregon, Idaho, or Montana whose certification is due to expire.

Read More
First Aid/CPR and AED

We teach the ASHI CPR & First Aid with AED certification class. You learn basic first aid skills, adult, child, and infant CPR, and AED proficiency.

Read More

Class Descriptions

Washington Courses

Flagger

Certification

Class

If you want to become a traffic control flagger in Washington or Oregon, this is the class for you. Evergreen Safety Council (ESC) is the Washington Department of Transportation's (WSDOT) approved certifying agency, and this course is an ESC approved flagger training course. You learn basic flagging skills including safety, work zone setup, and how to safely and effectively guide motorists and other road users such as pedestrians and bicylists through work zones.
The WA state flagging class is a 6 hour class. After the class, you take the flagger certification exam which is an untimed, open-book test. You should plan on being in class for 8 hours, though it's common for students to finish earlier. Your new Washington State flagger certification card is issued by the instructor, and is valid in Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Montana.

Flagger

Recertification

Class

The flagging recertification class is designed for flaggers who are certified flaggers in Washington, Oregon, Idaho, or Montana whose certification is due to expire. Flaggers must take a flagger recertification class every 3 years to remain current on safety information, learn about changes in traffic control laws & regulations, and refresh basic skills.
The WA state flagger recert class is a 4 hour class. After the class, you take the flagger certification exam which is an untimed, open-book test. You should plan on being in class for 6 hours, though it's common for students to finish earlier. Your new certification card is issued by the instructor, and is valid in Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Montana.

Oregon Courses

Flagger

Certification

and

Recertification

Class

Our Oregon flagger certification class is combined for new flaggers and experienced flaggers who are taking the class to recertify. You learn basic flagging skills including safety, work zone setup, and how to safely and effectively guide motorists and other road users such as pedestrians and bicylists through work zones.
The OR state flagging class is a 4 hour class. After the class, you take the flagger certification exam which is an untimed, open-book test. You should plan on being in class for 6 hours, though it's common for students to finish earlier. Your flagger certification card is mailed to you from Chemeketa Community College, which is contracted by the Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT) to oversee flagger certification.

Nationally Recognized Courses

ASHI

First Aid

CPR/AED

Certification

Class

The American Safety & Health Institute's First Aid class is taught by a qualified, trained instructor. This is the combined first aid, CPR, AED certification course. This video-based class includes hands-on, instructor-led skills practice to increase your confidence in using the basic first aid and AED skills learned in class. You also have the opportunity to practice adult, child, and infant CPR.
This is a 4 hour class, and your ASHI First Aid/CPR with AED Certification is recognized as valid in all 50 U.S. states.

ATSSA

Flagger

Certification

Class

ATSSA is the American Traffic Safety Services Association, a national organization committed to work zone safety. The Washington State ATSSA flagger training class covers the same material as is presented in the WA flagging class described above, with an additional focus on Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices (MUTCD) flagger requirements.
The ATSSA WA state flagger class is a 6 hour class. After the class, you take the flagger certification exam which is an untimed, open-book test. You should plan on being in class for 8 hours, though it's common for students to finish earlier. After successful completion of the exam, you receive both the WA state Flagger Certification Card issued by WSDOT (valid in WA, OR, ID, MT) and the ATSSA National Flagger Certification card (valid in multiple states, but NOT Washington or Oregon)
Register Now